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District Clerk Newsletter 
Thomas A. Wilder, District Clerk 

 
 

 

  

 As usual, the Texas legislature made some 
changes in the statutes that will affect our office as 
well as at least part of the legal community. 

 

Please note, that a major fee increase was obtained 
from the legislature by the Office of Court 
Administration on e-Filing.  This fee was raised from 
$20 to $30.  None of this fee goes to the county 
government.  All of it goes to the OCA to pay for the 
e-Filing vendor’s application. 

 

Please consult the District Clerk section of 
www.tarrantcounty.com for current fees.  Other 
legislative changes can be accessed through Texas 
Association of Counties and other sources.  Be sure 
and note the effective date of the new statutes.  Not 
all of them began September 1, 2015. 

 

Finally, we had to delay the implementation of our 
planned October 1, 2015 “paperless court” initiative 
due to technical circumstances beyond our 
control.  After these issues are resolved, we will make 
another effort to get away from paper files as per Rule 
21(f)(13) of the Supreme Court rules on e-Filing. 

 

Please watch the Tarrant County Bar Association 
journal and your e-mail in-box for further details at a 
later date. 

 

Best Regards, 

 

 

 

District Clerk 

District Clerk corner 

Subscribe for Web Access 

Go to egov.tarrantcounty.com 
to apply today! 

https://egov.tarrantcounty.com/web/guest/home
https://www.facebook.com/tarrantcountydc
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Texas District Court Alliance 

Thomas	A.	Wilder,	Tarrant	County	District	Clerk	along	with	two	of	his	employees	attended	the	Texas	
District	Court	Alliance	in	Kerrville,	Texas.		This	conference	focused	on	Criminal	Law	so	Mr.	Wilder	
was	accompanied	by	Alisia	C.	Morris,	Criminal	Manager	and	Stephane	Rhodes‐Reese,	Criminal	Court	
Veriϐier.		The	conference	started	Tuesday,	October	13th	through	Thursday,	October	15th	in	the	Hill	
Country.		It	was	held	at	the	YO	Ranch	Hotel	and	Conference	Center.			District	clerks	are	mandated	to	
obtain	at	least	20	hours	of	Continuing	Education	by	the	Texas	Legislature	annually.	

(Above)	Mr.	Wilder	standing	with	one	of	the	
many	YO	Ranch	exotic	game	trophies	that	deco‐
rate	the	hotel		(one	old	goat	to	another?)	

(Below)	Alisia	Morris,	Stephane	Rhodes‐
Reese	and	Mr.	Wilder 
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Mr. Wilder made a presentation on newly enacted legislation.  The conference covered important topics 
such as DPS Reporting, Legislation, E-Filing, Capital Murder-Clerk Procedures and Legal Terminology.  
There were over 300 clerks present for this successful event. The next conference will be in October of 
2016 and it will cover the subject of Family Law.  

Efile Fee Increase Effective 9-1-2015 
 

If you have noticed an increase in the 
felony/civil costs, you are correct.  Due to 

SB1139 the e-filing fee of 
$20 dollars was increased 
to $30, effective 9-1-
2015.  This fee will affect 
the felony/civil area and 
will increase the civil 

filing fees for Expunctions, Non-Disclosures 
and Occupational Drivers Licenses. Should 
you have any questions please contact the 
felony/civil area at 817-884-2508. 

 

Be on the 
lookout…. 

 

There is a fee increase 
(HB 2182) that will be 
effective on January 1, 
2016.   The jury fee 
increases to $40. 

 

SECTION 5. Section 
51.604(a), Government Code, is amended to 
read as follows: 

 (a) The district clerk shall collect a 
$40 [$30] jury fee for each civil case in which 
a person applies for a jury trial.  The clerk of 
the county court or statutory county court shall 
collect a $40 [$22] jury fee for each civil case 
in which a person applies for a jury trial.  The 
clerk shall note the payment of the  fee on the 
court’s docket. 
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Criminal Employee Spotlight 
 

Mark started with the District Clerk’s Office as a part-time 
employee in September 2002.  In June of 2003, Mark 
became a full-time employee, working in the Records 
division of the District Clerk’s Office.  Since then, he has 
worked many positions including: Family/Civil Records 
Associate Clerk, Associate Clerk in 371st District Court, 
Felony/Civil Clerk, Criminal Evidence Clerk, Mr. Wilder’s 
Office Manager, Technical Criminal Administrator, and is one 
of the Assistant Managers of the Criminal Division.  Mark 
has become one of the go-to staff members of the District 
Clerk’s Office for his wide variety of knowledge in our 
different sections. 
In Mark’s spare time, he enjoys spending time with his 
family.  Mark is also a huge automobile enthusiast.  Besides 

Mark’s vast knowledge of automobiles, it also includes music, especially Classic 
Country (he is from Nashville, after all). 

When filing a 
Motion and 
Proposed Order, 
do not file the 
Order as a Lead 
document.   The 

Proposed Order does not require 
a file-mark.  Instead, file it as an 
attachment in e-filing. 

To avoid any delays 
in scheduling a 
hearing or trial, 
please contact the 
appropriate Court 
Coordinator 
directly.  If your call 
is not answered, 
please leave a message on their 
voicemail or call back.  The District Clerk’s 
office is unable to assist with this maƩer.    

When in doubt 
about the proper 
way to e-file a 
document,  don’t 
hesitate to contact 
our office, we are 
happy to help.  
Contact information is on page 9. 

Are you interested in receiving 
the quarterly District Clerk 
Newsletter?   
 

Send your request to: 
dcnewsletter@tarrantcounty.com and 
we’ll make sure you’re on the e-mail 
list. 
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Efile Texas  
Subsequent Choices impacted by   
Increased Electronic Filing Fees 

 Effective September 1, 2015   

 

Select Filing Code 
Affidavit of Indigency 

Amended Filing 

Answer/Contest/Response/Waiver 

Bond 

Counter Claim/Cross Action/Interpleader/Intervention/Third Party ($70.00) 

Habeas Corpus (Continuing Jurisdiction) ($70.00) 

Motion (No Fee) 

Motion for Contempt ($15.00) 

Motion for Enforcement ($15.00)(QDRO) 

Motion for New Trial ($70.00) 

Motion to Modify ($30.00) 

Motion to Modify and Enforce ($30.00) 

Motion to Modify (Court Only) 

Motion to Reinstate ($15.00) 

Motion to Terminate Wage Withholding ($15.00) 

Motion to Transfer ($15.00) 

No Fee Documents 

Notice 

Notice of Appeal 

Proposed Order 

Request 

 

Optional Services 
Certificate of Name Change ($10.00) 

Copies – Certified ($1.00) 

Copies – Non-Certified ($0.35) 

Issue Abstract of Judgment ($8.00) 

Issue Bench Warrant ($8.00) 

Issue Capias ($8.00) 

Issue Citation ($8.00) 

Issue Citation – Certified Mail ($83.00) 

Issue Citation – Publication ($83.00) 

Issue Citation – Secretary of State ($8.00) 

Issue Letter Rogatory ($8.00) 

Issue Notice of Order Suspending License ($8.00) 

Issue Precept/Notice ($8.00) 

Issue Protective Order ($8.00) 

Issue Show Cause ($8.00) 

Issue Subpoena ($8.00) 

Issue Temporary Restraining Order ($8.00) 

Issue Warrant ($8.00) 

Issue Writ ($8.00) 

Issue Writ of Attachment ($8.00) 

Issue Writ of Execution ($8.00) 

Issue Writ of Garnishment ($8.00) 

Issue Writ of Scire Facias ($8.00) 

Issue Writ of Sequestration ($8.00) 

Issue Writ of Withholding ($8.00) 

Jury Fee ($30.00) 

Service – Certified Mail ($75.00) 

Service – Constable – All other ($75.00) 

Service – Constable – Posting ($83.00) 

Service – Constable – Writ ($150.00) 

 

When filing a new SAPCR case please choose Category 
“FAMILY/JUVENILE –Parent Child Relationship” and 
under Case Type choose “Other –Parent Child” this 
should then show under the Filing Code “Petition 
$325.00.” 

When setting up party 
names in e-filing, please 
indicate attorney’s name 
with party representing.  
 

This will ensure any 
notifications or actions that 

the court may send out will get to all intended 
parties and/or attorneys.  
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Fee Increase Due to a Legislation Change 
Effective September 1, 2015  

 
SB 1139 – Fee increase effective 9/1/15. 
Increases the electronic filing fee from $20.00 to $30.00 in civil cases in the appellate,  
district, and county-level courts. See § 51.851(b), Gov’t Code. 
 SECTIONA4.01.AASection 51.851(b), Government Code, is amended to read as follows:                                                              
 (b) In addition to other fees authorized or required by law, the clerk of the supreme  court, a court of appeals, a district court, a 
 county court, a statutory county court, or a statutory probate court shall collect a $30 [$20] fee on the filing of any civil action or  proceeding 
 requiring a filing fee, including an appeal, and on the filing of any counterclaim, cross-action, intervention, interpleader, or third-party  action 
 requiring a filing fee to be used as provided by Section 51.852. 

 
 

Filing a New Case with Tarrant County District Clerk’s Office – Family Law 
1. Case Information 
 
 Select Category 
 -Family/Juvenile-Marriage Relationship 
 
 Select Case Type      What shows up on Filing Code 
 -Annulment no Children      (Petition $289.00) 
 -Annulment with Children      (Petition $340.00) 
 -Declare Marriage Void      (Petition $280.00) 
 -Divorce no Children       (Petition $289.00) 
 -Divorce with Children      (Petition $340.00) 
  
 Select Category      What shows up on Filing Code 
 -Family Juvenile-Parent Child Relationship 
 
 Select Case Type 
 -Adoption/Adoption with Termination    (Petition $340.00) 
 -Child Protection       (Petition $325.00) 
 -Gestational Parenting      (Petition $325.00) 
 -Grandparent Access      (Petition $325.00) 
 -Other Parent-Child (i.e. SAPCR)     (Petition $325.00) 
 -Parent/Paternity       (Petition $325.00) 
 -Termination of Parental       (Petition $325.00) 
 
 Select Category      What shows up on Filing Code 
 -Family/Juvenile-Other Family Law 
 
 Select Case Type 
 -Adult Adoption       (Petition $274.00) 
 -Garnishment       (Petition $274.00) 
 -Habeas Corpus       (Petition $325.00) 
 -Name Change       (Petition $274.00) 
 -Other  

(i.e. Bill of Review; Suit to Enforce; Property Division; 
Declaratory Judgment)      (Petition $274.00) 

 -Protective Order      (Petition $274.00) 
 -Register Foreign Judgment     (Petition $325.00) 
 -Removal of Disabilities of Minority     (Petition $274.00) 
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Cont’d. from page 6   
 
2. Filings 
 
Select Filing Code 
-Paupers Affidavit of Inability to Pay Costs 
-Petition (Fee associated with Select Category/Select Case Type) 
-Application (can be used to efile another Lead Document w/o 
fees) 

 Optional Services 
Certificate of Name Change ($10.00) 
Copies – Certified ($1.00) 
Copies – Non-Certified ($0.35) 
Issue Abstract of Judgment ($8.00) 
Issue Bench Warrant ($8.00) 
Issue Capias ($8.00) 
Issue Citation ($8.00) 
Issue Citation – Certified Mail ($83.00) 
Issue Citation – Publication ($83.00) 
Issue Citation – Secretary of State ($8.00) 
Issue Letter Rogatory ($8.00) 
Issue Notice of Order Suspending License ($8.00) 
Issue Precept/Notice ($8.00) 
Issue Protective Order ($8.00) 
Issue Show Cause ($8.00) 
Issue Subpoena ($8.00) 
Issue Temporary Restraining Order ($8.00) 
Issue Warrant ($8.00) 
Issue Writ ($8.00) 
Issue Writ of Attachment ($8.00) 
Issue Writ of Execution ($8.00) 
Issue Writ of Garnishment ($8.00) 
Issue Writ of Scire Facias ($8.00) 
Issue Writ of Sequestration ($8.00) 
Issue Writ of Withholding ($8.00) 
Jury Fee ($30.00) 
Service – Certified Mail ($75.00) 
Service – Constable – All other ($75.00) 
Service – Constable – Posting ($83.00) 
Service – Constable – Writ ($150.00) 
Service – Constable – Writ ($75.00) 

E-Filing Helpful Hints Cont’d... 
   
When submitting e-filings for initial or subsequent cases in the 
Civil District Courts, please do 
not fill in any attorney 
information for anyone other 
than the party you are 
representing.  Respondents/
defendants attorney 
information should not be 
filled in when opening a new 
case.  This information has to 
be left blank until something 
has been submitted in writing 
on their behalf. 
   
When filling out the plaintiff’s information in the e-filing system 
(address, telephone number, etc.) do not use your law firm’s 
address.  We will only use the information that is stated in your 
petition, any other information will be removed from our 
system. This includes but is not limited to the defendants’ 
information.  We will continue to edit the citation(s) with any 
service addresses provided from the citation request form. 
   
When serving a defendant through the Secretary of State, 
Commissioner of Insurance, or Texas Department of 
Insurance, it is not necessary to use the addresses of these 
entities in the defendants’ party information section.  The 
service address needed in this section is the one these entities 
will actually attempt service.  Also, don’t forget that for each of 
these entities, two file-marked copies of the pleading and an 
extra 2 page copy fee of .70 (second copy of the citation 
produced) is needed to complete your citation request for each 
defendant being served by and through these entities.  You 
may provide these copies or pay through the e-filing system 
but the 2 page copy fee (.70) is always required for the second 
issuance of the citation.   
   
When requesting these citations through these entities from 
the “Optional Services” drop down box, please select from the 
following: 
 
“Issue citation-Secretary of State ($8.00)” 
“Issue citation-Insurance Commission ($8.00)” 
“Issue citation-State Highway Commission ($8.00)” 
 
For service by certified mail, please request “Service-
Certified Mail ($75.00”) for each defendant specified. 

Filing Application for Foreclosures 
  When filing a foreclosure case and requesting citations to be 
issued and served by certified mail ($83.00) and standard first 
class mail. This includes the $8.00 citation fee as well as 
the $75.00 service fee. It is however, not necessary to request 
regular citations ($8.00) in addition to the citations with certified 
mail service.  This type of citation not only includes the 
language needed for notifying the respondents of foreclosure 
within a 38 day response time, it automatically produces the 
second copy of the citation to be served through first class 
mail. 
   
We hope that the information that we have provided will prove 
to be advantageous in your prospective e-filings with the 
Tarrant County Civil District Clerk’s office.  

 

E-Filing Helpful Hints 
 

Kimberly Krumland / Jennie Thomas 

Associate Clerks, Civil 
 

Since the E-filing system was put into place beginning of 
January 1, 2014, the Tarrant County District Clerk’s office is 
always trying to find new ways to make this process run a little 
more efficiently and a little more smoothly with each filing that 
is received.  We do have some helpful hints in hopes of 
getting your filings accepted and processed into our system 
with a little more ease. 
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Criminal Clerk 
Reassignments 
 
Some of the staff in the criminal courts has 
been reassigned.  Don’t worry, they haven’t 
gone far. You will still see their familiar faces 
but in a different district court.  Our goal is to 
continue to provide our excellent customer 
service.  Below is a list of our Lead Clerks and 
the new court of assignment.  
 

 

CDC1     Lee Ann Swan    817-884-1283 

CDC2     Gail Kueckelhan    817-884-1223 

CDC3     Brittany Bobbitt    817-884-1973 

CDC4     Candice Monier    817-884-1230 

D213     Kim Wheeler-Mendoza  817-884-1788 

D297     Annette Gutierrez   817-884-1226 

D371     Marisol Bonilla    817-884-2538 

D372     Lisa Carleton    817-884-2541 

D396     Maria Lara     817-884-2766 

D432     Lori Tucker     817-884-2329 

Magistrate    Evelyn Villanueva   817-884-2528 

Diversion/Specialty  Teresa Ashwander   817-884-1384 

Auxiliary Lead   Marsha Bloxom    817-884-7523 
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Tim Curry Criminal Justice Center 
401 W Belknap Street 
Fort Worth, TX 76196 

Family Law Center 
 200 E Weatherford Street 

Fort Worth, TX 76196 

E-filing 
Questions? 

Call for assistance: 
 

Family: 817-212-6954 

Civil: 817-212-6953 

Criminal: 817-884-1342 

Felony/Civil: 817-884-2508 

www.tarrantcounty.com 

Felony/Civil 
 

The Felony/Civil section of the District Clerk’s office han-
dles Expunctions, Non-Disclosures, Occupational Driver’s 
License, Seizures, and Bond Forfeiture cases. 
It is located on the 3rd floor of the Tim Curry Justice Cen-
ter.  The Felony/Civil section began accepting  electroni-
cally filed documents for Expunctions,    Non-Disclosures, 
Felony Occupational Drivers Licenses and Seizure cases 
only on July 7, 2014. 

 
For filing fee information please refer to the District 
Clerk website for the most current fees. 

Felony/Civil Fees 

 
Our business hours are Monday – Friday 8am – 5pm.  
During these hours you can reach the Felony/Civil clerks 
for assistance. 

 

Rosalinda Mendoza-Lead Felony/Civil Clerk 

 Lead Clerk – 817-884-2508 

Michelle Farrell –Auxiliary 

 Lead Auxiliary Clerk – 817-884-2514 

Luz Rodriguez -Expunctions 

 Associate Clerk – 817-884-1231 

Nellie Herrera -Seizures 

Associate Clerk – 817-884-1156 

Tom Vandergriff Civil Courts Building 
100 N Calhoun Street 
Fort Worth, TX 76196 

http://access.tarrantcounty.com/en/district-clerk.html

