Sale of Property of Minor or Ward Without Guardianship of the Estate
Texas Estates Code Chapter 1351

Minor/Ward has:
O Minor or Guardian of the Person without a Guardian of the Estate
O Interest in an estate with net value not exceeding $100K

Venue:
O Same as for application for the appointment of a guardian

Application should contain the information required by Texas Estates Code Section 1351.002:
[ The applicant and their relationship to the Minor/Ward
e Please include last three digits of the applicant’s social security number and driver license number
O Minor/Ward’s name
O Legal description of real property or description that identifies the personal property
O Minor/Ward’s interest in the property
e How did the Minor/Ward receive the interest?
o What documents show the Minor/Ward’s interest in the property?
o What is the Minor/Ward’s fractional share of the property?
o Who other than the Minor/Ward has an interest in the property, if so, what is their interest?
O Name of purchaser
O Statement that the sale of the Minor/Ward’s interest in the property is for cash
O Statement that all money received from the sale of the interest in the property shall be used for the use and benefit of
the Minor/Ward

Exhibits to Application:

O Legal description of property

O All documentation necessary to prove interest in the property
O Copy of the contract for sale

O Evidence of fair market value

O Copy of the seller’s disclosure/settlement statement

Upon filing Application:

O Set hearing date no earlier than 5 days from the application file date

O The Court may cause citation to be issued

O File Proposed Order for Sale with proceeds paid into registry of the court (See Model Attached)

Hearing:
O The Court may require a guardian ad litem

O The Court may require an independent appraisal
O The Court may request witnesses

Upon Order of Sale:
O Purchaser to pay proceeds into the court registry

Withdrawal of Funds from Registry of Court:
O File application pursuant to Texas Estate Code Chapter 1355

***PLEASE REVIEW THE TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE, THE TEXAS ESTATES CODE, AND ALL
OTHER APPLICABLE LAW. WHILE THIS IS A GUIDE, IT IS NOT EXHAUSTIVE OF ALL THE
REQUIREMENTS UNDER TEXAS LAW***
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